What's Your Favorite Looper to Use with the MC6 Pro

I wasn’t sure where to post this and the lounge seemed like a good spot.

I’m very new to the MC6 Pro and have been slowly getting it configured for various song types with my RC-505. There’s been a lot of back and forth between editing and testing with the looper.

I’m using a 9v negative center power supply when testing and then I disconnect and go back to the Mac for more editing (it’s kind of a PITA). Is it ok to leave the 9v power source and the usb to Mac both connected at the same time? I keep cycling the unit on and off between testing and editing and don’t want to wear it out.

I also don’t really understand why we need 2 actions (press & release) to get the 505 to record, undo, clear, increment / decrement, etc. I’m a pretty experienced loop artist and can time my play for a button release but it still feels weird. Do other loopers require 2 step actions to make the unit do things?

What are you guys favorite loopers that are reasonably fuss free to set up with the MC6?

I’ve been a lifelong Boss looper and loved every minute of it until I dipped my toes into midi. Boss sucks! Shouldn’t need to use press and release respectively but can put both on a press (or release) to trigger with one click. Some users have said they needed a delay message type between the two cause boss wasn’t reading both midi messages coming that quick but I didn’t need to on my RC500

1 Like

So it’s a Boss issue. That’s good to know. I thought it was something in the way the MC6 Pro sent messages. That makes me feel a lot better about the process of setting up the MC6 for the 505.

I feel the same as you about the 505. I was first introduced to it when I saw Marc Rebillet (the LoopDaddy) do How to Funk in 2 Minutes on youtube. I got a 505 immediately and learned how to use it by covering HTFi2M.