Trouble getting MC8 to take Aux Switch programming on desktop editor

Hello Brilliant People,
Here is a brain buster. I have been trying to get my aux switch set up with my MC8. 3 button switch, wired correctly by simple switch (yes, i checked it with a meter). I am able to program each preset button, and save them, but the MC8 only responds to T, not U or V. Any ideas? I just want it to bank up on T, Band down on U and jump to bank 1 on V. It seems like it does not take the programing at the MC8. Please forgive me as i am new to morningstar, but, i have successfully programmed bank 1 full of cc messages that work, so, i can’t understand why i can’t get this going. Im sure i am probably missing something.

Have you made sure you’re connected to the right Omniport (I believe EXP port 2 for TUV), and that it’s set for Aux Switch?

Yes. I have done that. It is set for aux switch.

How do you have the aux switch wired up? Can you share a picture of the wiring?

I’m assuming it is connected to Omniport 2 (to control T, U and V). If you can get T to work, that means the controller is reading the Tip being shorted to ground. Preset U engages when the Ring is shorted to ground, and V is when Tip + Ring is shorted to ground.

If you turn on this setting in the Editor Settings tab, does pressing the switches load the presets in the editor?

Here is the switch internals. Sw1 is left, 3 middle and sw2 on right, that is if the jack is lower left.

I compared to the wiring diagram in MC8 manual and it looks correct.

Yes, but only for T.

Are you using a TRS cable?

Thanks, yup the wiring looks correct.

This might be the most obvious explanation. Although if a TS cable is used, the ring is always shorted to ground which should “hang” the controller because the controller is reading as a switch being pressed. Can you confirm though, if a TRS cable is used?

Yep. TRS for sure. Ive checked it with a meter several times. Made it myself. Sp550s squareplugs, belden mic cable.