[Solved] Trouble with MC8 and ML5

Hey everyone, I could really use some help! I am new to MIDI (at least with my guitar rig) and am trying to figure out the issue I am having.

Here is a pic of my pedalboard.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/TgCTc5Ap3KLcpNmZ6

Here is how things are currently set up:

MC8 > (Midi Out) > ML5 (Midi Channel 2) > Boss DD500 (Midi Channel 3) > Strymon BigSky (Midi Channel 4) > HX Stomp (Midi Channel 5)

I am also coming out of the USB jack on the MC8 going into a MacBook Pro controlling Ableton Live on Midi Channel 1.

My goal is to be able to select a preset called “Song 1” that will move to a locator in Ableton and change presets on the DD500 and HX Stomp. I have six buttons mapped as “Song 1, 2, 3,” etc. These are all set up as long press. I also have the PC Commands for the DD500 and HX Stomp set up as “long release” on the same switches. I also have a button labeled “Play” and one labeled “Stop” that control the transport in Ableton. On the second page I have it set up to control the ML5 presets. When it’s all working, it is really great and functions really well for me.

Here is the issue I am having…

The MC8 and ML5 seems to lose connection with one another. Upon initial set up I can program the ML5 to switch loop presets just fine, but eventually it stops working. The ML5 won’t even receive signal from the MC8. It won’t change presets, it won’t allow me to reprogram it…basically it stops acting like it even exists! The Boss DD500 will display a “MIDI Error” message also every time I try changing presets. I have tried changing MIDI channels, I have tried doing a factory reset on the ML5, I have upgraded the firmware on the MC8.

I have experienced the same problem with just the MC8 and ML5 connected…so I don’t think it has anything to do with the other things in the Midi chain.