Problems controlling a boss RC 500 from an MC8

Hi there, I’ll confess that I’m still relatively new to this. I’ve got an MC8 and I want to control some functions on a bus RC 500. At the moment I’m stuck on controlling the record, Overdub play function from a foot switch within a bank. I have assigned the Record function to Assign 3 on the RC 500 and then used the following Message on the MC8 preset. (See screenshot below).
Toggle Mode On
MSG 1 - action: press, type: cc, cc number 3, cc value 0, midi channel 2 – RC500. Pos Both.

MSG2 - action: release, type: cc, cc number 3, cc value 127, midi channel 2 – RC 500, position Both

Whilst this specific switch seems to work fine, I am bizarrely finding that other switches – specifically A and C where I do not have the same message, are also triggering play on the Second press of the switch. It’s as though some of the functionality from switch B is carried over to switch A on the second press. I’m sure this is a case of lack of consideration knowledge but would be grateful for some guidance to help me get through the maze. Thanks

What did you programm to A and C? The RC cycles through rec/play/dub or rec/play/stop depending on how you’ve set up the assigns

Thanks for your reply guitarwolf. On A and C I currently have no messages for the RC 500, just for my HXFX. That’s why I was perplexed that they were having an effect on the RC 500. That’s simply because I am working through the set up. I do intend to put RC CC commands on C, but as yet there are none.

Sorry forgot to include a screenshot.

Hi GuitarWolf, any more thoughts on this?

I just seem to be getting unexpected behaviour from the RC 500 at the moment. For example it goes into play mode when I enter a bank on the MC8 despite me not having configured that. I tried adding the record/play functionality to a new preset on a new bank with no other programming on it.