HELP! Trying to setup MC8

Hello, i am new to MIDI and purchased the MC8 to control 4 Strymon pedals (Mobius, Timeline, Volante and BigSky) and have pretty much set it up to recall my most used presets.
What i want to achieve i think is pretty simple; for example, I want to recall a tremolo effect from the Mobius and to be able to turn it off on the same switch. That i achieved on all the pedals. the problem comes when for example, i am on the tremolo effect on the Mobius and want to switch to a “leslie” sound on the Mobius it swiches it. but when i want to return to the tremolo effect, it turns the Mobius off.
the same issue happens on the Timeline and BigSky.
Can someone help me solve this issue?
has anyone experienced this?

Thanks,
LR

1 Like

Hey! Can you send a screenshot of your settings so we can see how you programmed it? It might help if you monitor the messages getting sent out (www.midimonitor.com), so you know why the devices are responding like that.

Here are a few examples that might help you figure it out…
This preset has a Chorus (PC 8 - A Footswitch on Mobius) in Pos:1
and Tremolo (PC 9 - B Footswitch on Mobius) in Pos:2

Double Tap toggles between Pos:1 and Pos:2
Press followed by Release turns either on and off depending on which position I am in.
MSG 2 and 3 are what makes it work so that if the Chorus is Off when I switch to the Tremolo it will be Off too…or Chorus On then Tremolo is On.

What is important here is the Release in MSG 5 and MSG 7. and this is what caused most of my issues with Strymon pedals.
To simlulate what actually happens when you press a footswitch on the Mobius you need to use 2 CC commands. One with a value of 0 for pressing down on the switch and a value of 127 for letting up on the switch. (I’ve include screenshot of the part in manual that shows this)
In my example above, a program change is in the place of the 0 value Down press command.