Boss EQ-200 MIDI control

Hello,

I’m new to Morningstar: just purchased MC8.
Looking at the list of supported gear, I’m pretty OK, but I haven’t found too much on EQ-200.

Does anyone have some experience with Boss EQ-200 MIDI control?

I’m thinking about not just program changes, but like controlling Boss EQ-200 volume be expression pedal attached to MC8 (same volume values to be sent to multiple devices including EQ-200).

Thanks for any experience and knowledge shared!

I have the EQ-200 and used it with MIDI. It has Boss’s architecture for allowing quite a bit of rope to hang ones self (but it is quite flexible).

In the menu options, you have RX CH (MIDI Channel IN #) and CC IN (boolean to receive control change messages, should be ON). Then you have a host of options relating to the pedal’s own CTL (Control) and EXP (Expression) functions, which you’ll need to set as you like. Finally, you have CTL CC and EXP CC, which is how you map a specific MIDI Controller to those things. Then you are finally ready to send it some MIDI.

1 Like

Thank you Joe!

Do you eventually have the list of midi commands to be used at hand?

Thanks

I don’t have it at hand, mainly because it’s all expressed in the Boss menu. It’s not a static list of CC mappings, you can go into the menu and decide what CC should do what. It’s not like most things where you need to refer to a MIDI Implementation chart, which, come to think of it, is probably why it’s not a good candidate for the MIDI library.

1 Like

Replying here just if anybody finds this thread like I did, trying to deal with the Boss EQ-200 MIDI implementation, because it’s such a pain, and Boss hates their customers, this shows obviously by their useless manuals. Took me half an hour to find out, just how to toggle both EQ’s A and B on and off. Maybe this helps, it is weird though, wtf did the people at Boss think they were doing???

TOGGLE EQ’S A AND B ON/OFF WITH THE MORNINGSTAR:

Setup Menu of the EQ200: