Boss 200 series pedals

Using Morningstar to control Boss OD/MD/DD/EQ-200 pedals.

I have an MC8 controlling OD-200, MD-200, and DD-200 pedals. I’m new to the Boss 200 series and to Midi. As I figure out how this works, I’ll post info to this thread.

My first lesson was toggling on and off the 200-series pedals. The On/Off stomp switch for all three pedals is controlled by CC#28. But you have to send it both a 0 CC message AND a 127 CC message to toggle it from one state to the other.

Also, sending the pedal a PC message will automatically turn the pedal On.

When I power up my pedalboard, all three pedals turn on automatically. I programmed a switch on the MC8 to turn them all off. That required six CC messages, two to each pedal.

Next, I wanted to turn them all off but have them shift to the Manual mode before doing so. That way, if I hit the On/Off switch on the DD200, it would turn on in the Manual mode (i.e., PC#0).

To do that with a single press on the MC8, I had to first send the three pedals a PC-0 message on the “Press” action, and then two CC messages (0 and 127) to each pedal of the three pedals on the “Release” action. It works!

Sending both PC and CC messages to the pedal left it in the “On” state. It seems PC messages override CC messages on my Boss pedals.

2 Likes

Here are the default CC#s for the DD200.

• Time knob: 17
  • Feedback knob: 18
  • E.Level knob: 19
  • Param knob: 22
  • Tone knob: 20
  • Mod knob: 21
  • On/Off switch: 28
  • Memory switch: 82
  • Ctl 1: 80 (I’m not sure what this is yet!)
  • Ctl 2: 81
  • Expression: 16
  • Effect On/Off: 27 (I’m not sure what this does yet).

I hope this is useful! ~Bud.

1 Like

Here are the default CC#s for the MD200:

• Rate knob: 17
  • Depth knob: 18
  • E. Level knob: 19
  • Param1 knob: 20
  • Param2 knob: 21
  • Param3 knob: 22
  • Memory/Tap switch: 82
  • Ctl-1: 80
  • Ctl-2: 81
  • Effect On/Off: 27

Here are the default CC#s for the OD200:

• Level knob: 18
  • Drive knob: 17